Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Adderall Agitation / Anxiety

Adderall Agitation / Anxiety2011-05-19T21:50:01+00:00

The Forums Forums Ask The Community Adderall Agitation / Anxiety

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I am new to taking medication for my ADD and to this site. For the last five months I’ve been taking Adderall, which I think has been very helpful, although I’m still not sure if I’m taking an optimal dose. Dr J wrote in one posting about adderall: “Anxiety and agitation may occur around 1-3 hours of taking the meds. Try to do more of the harder attentional tasks during this time as it soaks up the Adderall XR and makes the side effects lessened.”

This seems like good advice for dealing with those feelings. However, I think I experience the agitation at a later time from when I take it. So, I assumed that my feeling was a symptom of the drug wearing off. Is this common? Is it common for one to experience agitation at different periods when it is in one’s system? I guess I’m looking for consistent indicators that would inform me of how to regulate my medication better.

I probably haven’t read enough of what other people experience here. I realize that everyone is different and there is trial and error involved. I fully intend to bring this issue up with my psychiatrist but want to have a better understanding so that I can be more concise during our short 15 minute session.

REPORT ABUSE

veronica

i was getting agitated when i started taking it. yoga helped out a lot. reading. taking time to myself at the end of the day to decompress.