Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

ADHD and Athletics

ADHD and Athletics2012-06-04T22:04:40+00:00

The Forums Forums Ask The Community ADHD and Athletics

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I am a graduate student at Yale with an interest in psychology and athletics. I am curious about your thoughts to the following questions:

1. Are you aware of any data showing that ADHD rates are higher for athletes? What about different rates across sports?

2. I came across this quote by Dr. Jain, “What I often find for athletes is that when they stop their intense training, their ADHD symptoms flare up a great deal. I’ve treated a number of ex-Olympians and I find that they miss the structure, the detail and the intensity of their training.” Why do you think ADHD symptoms flare up when athletes stop their intense training? Would it make sense then to test athletes for ADHD when their are not intensely training for their sport?

3. Which ADHD screening tool or questions would you most recommend before referring a student-athlete to a full battery of tests?

4. What advice would you give to student-athletes recently tested with ADHD?

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

hey there,

my name is Nichole. i was a provincial competitive gymnast for over 7 years. when i retired from the sport my adhd kicked into high gear.

gymnastics is known as one of the best sports for kids/adolescence with adhd because it’s individual (we don’t do as well in teams), highly structured and requires a crap load of cardiovascular training. martial arts and track n’ field are also great.