Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Adult ADHD and a Hard Science Major

Adult ADHD and a Hard Science Major2016-05-08T23:15:54+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace College Adult ADHD and a Hard Science Major

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

beastmasterrach

Hello all. My name is Rachel and I’m an adult with ADHD. I’m also a college student doing Geology as a major and GIS&T (Geographic Information Science and Technology) as a minor. I also have Companion Animals as another minor but I just need one more class for that. Anyways, I was wondering if there are any tips or tricks for coping with ADHD while trying to do a hard science. I ask this because every major is different and different tricks could be used. With my major we are in the classroom/lab 3/4ths of the time and 1/4th in the field. This is important because I am on medication but it’s a stimulant and I will not take it when I have to hike 4 or 5 miles to get to our study area. The hike does help me concentrate a little bit but after a while I’m back to my normal self. Thanks

REPORT ABUSE

piley

Hi

I have a voice recorder that I take into seminars, meetings etc. I then put the recordings on software that allows me to add my notes and slides to the recordings.

I rarely get round to actually putting my notes, slides and recordings together to be honest but I do listen to the recordings again when I am working on a paper.

I don’t try to do one thing at a time. My supervisor helps me focus in on one point, but even then my thoughts spider out all the time and I tend to be writing several paragraphs at once, jumping between them as the thoughts come to me.

I find trying to work in a linear way doesn’t work for me and so I try to work with the ADHD rather than against it.