Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Always thought I was too lazy to be ADD

Always thought I was too lazy to be ADD2010-08-08T22:37:52+00:00

The Forums Forums What is it? Inattention/Distractibility/Focus Always thought I was too lazy to be ADD

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I was just recently diagnosed with ADD, at 35 years old. I honestly didn’t see it coming, and I am always interesting in psychology, meta-cognition, and understanding why certain people ‘think’ or perceive things the way they do. I think my ADD gives me a benefit towards working with children (I am a teacher) because I feel I can relate to them, see things from their POV, and have more patience with them…yes, I have ADD AND patience, lol, plenty of patience towards others but NOT myself.

I was originally diagnosed with general anxiety and depression, after seeking help for drinking. I stayed sober for 3 years, and continued to stay on antidepressants. I moved to a new city and changed jobs. Although I began and do currently drink, it has never put me in the place I was before. It was when I began seeing a different dr after I moved that ADD finally came up…along with difficulties in going back to college. My new dr asked what kind of depressed thoughts, was I sad or what? I told him that it wasn’t sadness, more self esteem issues, constantly beating myself up for procrastinating, feeling overwhelmed by the everyday life things, things that everyone else seems to do without a thought. These ‘little everyday things’ can overwhelm me to the point that I do NOTHING, then I beat myself up for being ‘lazy.’ The laziness thing was probably kept me from seeing the ADD angle. I turned to drinking in the past because I had difficulty falling asleep, in addition to feeling depressed and having low self-esteem.