Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Anxiety

Anxiety2012-05-23T06:15:26+00:00
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I was recently diagnosed at 55 years old. In my mid twenties I had an anxiety attack, and very fortunately discovered Relaxation Response (it wasn’t well known then) and later meditation. I became quite expert at these techniques over several years. My life at that time turned around at work and also in getting involved in other interest. About 15 years ago I dropped my RR and meditation habits. Gradually over time, what I now know to be ADD symptoms became worse. I work in construction and with the recession haven’t work regularly in recent years. I had occasionally tried to RR or meditate over the years but it takes some considerable focus, so it became just another one of things I knew I should do, but didn’t. Since going on Adderall I have been able to RR and begin to meditate. That was my main reason for going on meds, and it made much easier to do these exercises. It will take me a while to get back to the levels of relaxed being that I used to attain, but in just a couple of weeks I feel so much more relaxed. I had always known that when I was stressed I made silly mistakes, forgot important things and procrastinated, but had no clue that the anxiety was a co-morbidity with ADD.

And… big bonus, I just had to have my blood pressure meds changed because the Relaxation Response exercises have considerably lowered my BP.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi there,

I’m popping up everywhere aren’t I?!

I was going to post something else, then I read your post. What is Relaxation Response? I’ve done yoga when I was pregnant and I only enjoyed it because it connected me to my baby – all that lying around breathing did my head in. I got the info I needed to get the babies out without drugs and I ran.