Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Anybody have experience/comments related to Cogmed?

Anybody have experience/comments related to Cogmed?2011-03-04T17:05:29+00:00

The Forums Forums Tools, Techniques & Treatments Anybody have experience/comments related to Cogmed?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

ellamama

I know there’re plenty of inteventions out there which claim to “cure” ADHD, etc. Likewise, as an evaluation researcher by trade, I’m particularly suspect. That said, I’ve been hearing good things about Cogmed. It looks like there’s some decent data showing efficacy (of course if *I* were doing the study I’d have done it differently…). Of course, it’s pretty darned pricey (not covered by insurance).

Before I get flamed, let me make it clear that I’m not asking about Cogmed as a stand-alone treatment for ADHD. As I understand it, it’s specifically helpful for improving working memory. As such, I see it as something to augment everything else going on.

I’m curious of anybody out there has had personal experience with using the program. I’ve signed up for a webinar later this month to learn more. I’m interested not only for myself but my daughter, too.

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

Though it does appear that the treatment shows promise, you’re wise to proceed carefully, especially when it’s so expensive, and not covered by insurance.

Research it thoroughly, from reputable sources, and then discuss it with your doctor and psychiatrist, to get their professional opinions.

As a researcher, you’re probably well aware that evidence can be either anecdotal (people have tried it, and it’s worked for them), or clinical. Anecdotal evidence is highly suspect, since it’s neither impartial nor scientific, and people are often paid for giving glowing testimonials.