Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

At the end of my rope!

At the end of my rope!2013-10-16T17:46:50+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey I'm Sad At the end of my rope!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

nonni

I always have had problems with depression and anxiety. I found out I had ADD a couple of years ago.  I’m 53. This past summer I had psychological tests because I’ve been having increasingly difficult times at work.  My working memory is practically nonexistent.  I also have sleep apnea which contributes to the problems of attending and memory.  I had the tests because I told work and they wanted proof from a doctor so they could give me accommodations. My meds aren’t working.  I did very poor on the working memory part of the test.  I can’t get organized.  I took an online summer course and never finished because I always get distracted by everything.  I am a high school art teacher and things are getting more and more demanding-not the teaching part-but the paperwork.  I never get it in on time and I know it looks bad to my bosses.  I keep up with all the teaching work but I just can’t get organized.  We have meetings once a week and I can’t remember from one week to the next what we are working on with enough specifics-I’m always confused.  I have no one at work I can talk to. I just feel like I can’t do it anymore.  For the last couple of weeks I feel like crying all the time. I’d quit my job but I don’t know what I could do to support myself.  I have too many bills-not for my current pay- but for what ever job I might be able to get with my dysfunctional brain. Does ADD sometimes get worse with time.? I didn’t have it this bad as a kid.  I was a good student but it was hard for me. Now I have a lot of stress.  All my work takes me way to much time.  I’m up every night and only get about 5 hours because I’m trying to catch up with work.  I always get distracted on th