Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

BEAS!- Brain-training, exercise, adderall, and systems!

BEAS!- Brain-training, exercise, adderall, and systems!2013-07-01T17:53:02+00:00

The Forums Forums Tools, Techniques & Treatments What Worked For Me… BEAS!- Brain-training, exercise, adderall, and systems!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

kristya

I have struggled with ADHD my entire life (25yrs currently) and didn’t know it until I went into graduate school. I thought I was stupid. I studied really hard all my life and couldn’t do as well as most people who only spent a quarter of the time studying as I did. I lost everything constantly. I had developed a habit where I would check all of my pockets every few minutes to make sure I had everything. The thing that drove my husband the craziest was that I couldn’t stop chewing on everything I had on me: pencils, pens, necklaces, my wedding ring, etc. (also, he had to keep picking up after me).

A year after being diagnosed, this is what I have found that works for me: brain-training, exercise, adderall, and systems. I had exercised consistently before I got diagnosed and found I could concentrate and understand things better for a bit after wards. After I got diagnosed and put on medication, I felt much better; like I could hear and take in everything around me. I stopped chewing on things almost immediately (probably trying to stimulate my mind). However, I still struggled with a few things here and there.
    My next step was to start organizing my space and time. The space thing was easier, but the time, the time is still hard for me. I have been working on systems to try and organize everything and, slowly but surely, things are getting even better.