Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Being a Boss with ADD!!!

Being a Boss with ADD!!!2010-12-13T04:19:41+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Other Being a Boss with ADD!!!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Oy, where to start? I am a pharmacist with ADD, diagnosed maybe a year ago, been on meds, the whole 9 yards. Right now, we think the regimin is working. However, I have employees that cant/wont understand this disability (although I keep calling it a condition even though its kinda not). One of them has a son with ADD, so you’d think she’d understand. Well, at the beginning she did. But now that its been 6 months, they are burnt out. I cant fire them because I couldnt decide to or not! I do have issues making decisions, even though I want the control (as an ADDer). I now know where that urge and push comes from, but meanwhile it did have an effect on my career. I chose to work for myself because I found working for corporate America to be frustrating.

Working for yourself has its ‘benes’, but also problems. I didnt know I was ADD when I started the business, otherwise I probably would have reserached it more, and studied management to better control employees. I hate employee handbooks, but we are seeing the need for it now (my atty had advised against it and has told me to post specific rules individually). I could not do that either without fearing my employees biting my head off. They are threatening me with lawsuits, and really pushing my buttons the wrong way. They play games and accuse me of forgetting and pitting them against each other. All the while, I tell them that this is not my mission in life, but they still think I can make the choice to change. But yall know, with ADD, thats like trying to turn a Rock over to get to a million dollars (hehe).