Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Being Perfect and other lies I tell myself….

Being Perfect and other lies I tell myself….2015-01-03T22:18:12+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Ups and Downs Being Perfect and other lies I tell myself….

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

deemarie1929

I have embraced the diagnosis, I have rejected it.  I’ve tried drugs when I wasn’t ready and been unable to get them when I was.  I’ve been everywhere on pretty much every scale.

But here I am now.  I have some skills, I have some support, I have some knowledge and I still feel like it’s just never going to get any better.  I can’t get this idea of the perfect me out of my head and she haunts and kills my effectiveness.  Here’s how I got into the current mess:

I’m in a medical doctorate program, so it’s very structured.  Just started.  First quarter went fine.  Had some ADD bumps, but I think I learned my lessons on those things…appointments, calendars, official communications and what to pay attention to, what doesn’t have back up mechanisms.  My performance at school was not impressive by any means and I just got by on a couple things but I was learning the ropes (and I still had a social life!)