Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Blood pressure

Blood pressure2010-09-20T19:24:34+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication Blood pressure

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Greetings Everyone. I am a newbie. But I do have a question about some meds. My last dr. who has now left the practice said that adderall raised my blood pressure so she switched me after 5 years of being on it….by other docs in the practice with no problems……to stratterra. But it is just not helping and I feel hopeless because I have an adhd son (whom I have to be focused on at all times). I just want to sleep all day. At one time I was on provigil and it seemed to help. I am going to a new doctor and do you think I should ask him about going on that or what alternatives do I have? Thank you all.

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

As I understand it, all ADHD medications, even a non-stimulant like Strattera, can raise blood pressure. And Strattera’s fact sheet specifically warns about use by persons being treated for high blood pressure or heart conditions.

If your previous medication was working, but raised your blood pressure, and the Strattera isn’t working for you, then maybe you should go back to your previous medication, plus something to deal with your blood pressure. That “something” could be a change in your diet, or a supplement like Omega 3, or a blood pressure drug.

You really need to discuss all this with your new doctor. Before your appointment, visit some *legitimate* medical websites (that is, NOT the ones trying to sell you some “miracle, non-drug cure”), and read the fact sheets on the various ADHD medications. Write down any important points, and any questions that occur to you. That way, you and your doctor will be able to determine whether the benefits of taking a particular drug outweigh the potential risks for you.

REPORT ABUSE

trashman