Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Busted! How to respond to negative (but probably accurate) feedback?

Busted! How to respond to negative (but probably accurate) feedback?2010-08-10T19:14:50+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Strategies for Work Busted! How to respond to negative (but probably accurate) feedback?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

ellamama

I’m a researcher who’s running a project for a client. I’ve a team of folks who report to me and we’ve a weekly call to the client where we review our progress so far, etc. I am a telecommuter, so I work from home. In recent months, my phone has been wonky on occassion. On occassion, I take a call from my cell with less than perfect reception. (That’s the background.)

Today we had a call and in the middle of it I lost electricity (the contractor who’s working in the kitchen said he was shutting off the water, not the electricity). I called back in on my cell and we finished up the call. Seconds later, I got a call from one of the folks on my team.

She wanted to tell me that she’s worried about the project’s budget and thinks we should have oversight. Okay, her division has different policies and procedures about project and budget management. I can deal with responding to that. Then, she continues on. She hesitated a lot and asked about my phone situation. She clearly had something else on her mind, “What do want to tell me?” I asked.

“Well, I mean–you sometimes–You’re really smart. You know? That’s the trouble. You’re just so, wicked smart.”

“That’s nice to hear, but what did you want to tell me.” (Really, for a gal who always doubted her intelligence, that’s dandy!)

“Well, you seem to be too impatient to wait until people finish what their saying before you finish their sentances. You do it to the client. A LOT.”