Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Confused… Loss of Motivation

Confused… Loss of Motivation2013-10-01T22:31:03+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Is It Just Me? Confused… Loss of Motivation

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author

norrinradd

Good Evening,

Does anyone else get excited about a project or activity for a few weeks and then lose interest and not finish?

I was seeing a therapist for “depression” and basically feeling like I should be doing more with my life. Apparently I described textbook symptoms of ADHD and the therapist pointed this out. My response was that it was funny because my 7 year old son was just diagnosed. So she encouraged me to try Ritalin to see if that made me feel better. It did. I started drawing again and entering art contests.

After a few months I lost interest and started a new project. Then another. Then another. Despite being on Concerta I was still doing the same thing, losing interest and not finishing anything. I was never reaching the potential I thought I should reach.

Should I up my 18mg of concerta? Am I doomed to never be happy? I am 42… Is it too late to be happy? Should I just count my blessings? Being employed. Having 2 healthy beautiful sons. Having a happy marriage. Having good health.

Concerta helps me concentrate in the moment but it doesn’t help me stick with to a big project and see it through to the end.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
    NorrinRadd

REPORT ABUSE

Wgreen
    Participant