Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Confusing…

Confusing…2012-02-02T07:04:15+00:00
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I was diagnosed with ADHD at around 4 or 5. I had the opportunity to grow up outside a small, forgiving town. Living on a ranch helped too; helped me learn responsibility (although it took some time and doing). I always struggled with ADHD, but more so the hyperactivity, and impulsiveness, that is not to say it was not a struggle to concentrate though. Even so from kindergarten through today, I’ve been an honor roll student. On my report cards i never got a D or F. I rarely got C’s, and infrequently got B’s. In class all the kids would sit around me and copy off my paper because they knew 9 times out of 10 I was right. The teachers either loved me or hated my guts; there was no in between. Many of them were understanding of my condition, but it was the ones who didn’t gave me trouble. Throughout my schooling it got hard to concentrate, I’d do stupid things, but I still had great friends. Granted some of them were weird, and to this day are, but for the most part I was pretty popular. I still got in a mess of trouble though, I bounced around between a couple small schools, dealt with suspensions and expulsions. In 7th grade I left traditional school for reasons unrelated to my ADHD. I was enrolled in a charter school where I went one day a week to classes and met with my teacher. The school was great, and I got to take welding, which I became pretty good in; later on I actually went back and was TA in that class. Fast forward to highschool. Still going to the same charter school, because it is K-12. I’m shy and awkward and scared people will find out my secret and ridicule me for the next four years. I found that was not the case. I made some friends, but it took lots of time, and patience on their parts. I am now 17 and a proud outgoing senior.