Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Considering asking for an ADHD accommodation at work

Considering asking for an ADHD accommodation at work2011-08-18T07:00:28+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace The Law/Employment Considering asking for an ADHD accommodation at work

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I am so exhausted from the multi-page epic email I just sent my colleague mentor (former student preceptor) that I am too lazy to go in depth on here in a way that makes sense. organizing thoughts all day is really tiring.. and the med died long ago.. but part of the beauty of posting here is the acceptance of disjointed stream on consciousness, right? ok.

I originally began to inquire whether or not I had ADD shortly after I obtained this job in April. This is my first major responsibility career position. I am a nurse practitioner. Aside from a year and a half in an hourly position as a RN, I have always been a full time school….sporadic work person. Anyhow, when I began, I was working 12 hours a day in order to finish 6 hours full of work. ok..thought that was just a learning curve, but I did not start improving. —-blah blah blah…discovery..all the random crap I’ve done my whole life and didn’t know why—-blah blah blah

so I do get diagnosed formally and treated. With medication and employing organization and time-management strategies (many I learned here), I have accomplished a full 8 hour load of work in the same 12 hours. to be fair, there is a lot more added work now related to having a growing caseload. People don’t stop existing between their appointments!!! lol