Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Driving frustration, is it just me or my adhd?

Driving frustration, is it just me or my adhd?2012-03-21T05:28:01+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey I'm Cranky/Arguing/Frustrated Driving frustration, is it just me or my adhd?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Sometimes this makes me feel so stupid, I get flustered easily, confused, turned around, read a sign but it goes by so quick that if I needed to turn within 800m I have already missed the turn by the time I realize what the sign said!!!!

I live just outside of a major city (Vancouver BC) most of the time I am very comfortable behind the wheel as long as I am in my own small part of the city and or I drive the route on a weekly basis but any time I have to go out of the comfort zone, major issues!!!

I have been driving for about 15 years so I am not new at this lol!!

Tonight this is what happened: My twins were going to visit their dad and I had to take them to Vancouver airport (I have driven there approx 30 times) I get into the car make sure we have everything, double check for passports and all important things, even remembered that I needed to stop for gas so had left myself an extra 20 mins just on the safe side…….start the car and for the life of me cannot remember how to drive there, start to get that panicky feeling like omg were gonna be late because I can’t remember!! I grab my phone because I have a map system where you put in the addresses it gives you directions, whew now I remember which way to go….this is something that I must visualize before I drive anywhere, I do not remember lots of road names but as most are highways the map helps with jump starting the memory.

Did manage to get to the airport on time, check them in on time, remembered passports and all important stuff, Yay me :)