Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Feeling like a failure, desperate.

Feeling like a failure, desperate.2012-02-07T01:44:49+00:00

The Forums Forums I Just Found Out! I Suspect I Am Feeling like a failure, desperate.

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hey, I’m a 23-year-old undergrad (a couple of years behind due to slacking throughout high school). I somehow managed to scrape by all these years, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever really gotten better at getting work done. No matter what I try, I always fall into the same habits.

Now, I don’t know if I have ADD, but I got 7/9 on the virtual doctor test, and my past has been a history of failures, so maybe it’s worth looking into. Kind of desperate anyway. Been in front of my desk for the past three days, trying to study for two midterms, and I haven’t even read a damn chapter.

It’s close enough to exam time that I’ll probably get stressed about it and get some readings done, but if anyone can offer some immediate advice for an undiagnosed possible fellow sufferer, I’d be grateful.

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt, lost the T-shirt, bought a new T-shirt, forgot I bought it, bought another T-shirt, realized I now have 2…

You get the idea.

I went from straight A’s (except for penmanship in elementary school, and except for math in high school) to barely passing at university, because I couldn’t concentrate on my studies or assignments, and preferred to go to the reference library and study things that were more interesting. Then, I struggled through a succession of jobs that should have been very easy for me, but were actually soul-destroying and very difficult. That was a long time ago, and I only discovered I have ADHD, about 3 years ago. So I can imagine how you’re feeling right now, because that’s how I felt.