Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

FRUSTRATION!

FRUSTRATION!2011-02-08T13:34:35+00:00
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

jpsimard

Hello all,

Just wanted to share my frustration that I’m having this morning! I’ve recently started treatment for adult add, so I’m going through the learning curve of how to marry my life to my brain more effectively. A few months ago, before I was diagnosed, my beautiful girlfriend suggested that I make a daily schedule to help balance my life. I am a classical musician, an opera singer, and I balance that and a part time job.

My frustration comes in that sometimes I become hyper focused on a task and forget to move on to the next, or I simply find myself unable to become motivated to start a task.

The solution I have come up with is this: I am going to set a “calender” alarm on my phone for each individual activity. That way I know when to stop, and when to start a new task. I’m going to try this out for three weeks (allowing time for the ritalin to ramp up and become more effective with my system), and if it works, stick with it.

Just thought I would share incase this motivates someone else, or echos with their sentiments!

Feeling less frustrated already!

– Justin

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Justin, I was the poster boy for this issue.

Maybe you can find some value in my experience with your new task.

-Go buy a cheap cooking timer-

-Select the task you are going to work on-

-Train the people in your life not to interrupt you at all when you are working.

-Turn off your cell phone including all other distractions, including email, Facebook whatever.

-If you get interrupted even for a minute it takes the human brain about 20 minutes to get back to where you where before the interruption