Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

HELP! Is age effecting my ADHD symptoms or am I just worn out from all the fun?

HELP! Is age effecting my ADHD symptoms or am I just worn out from all the fun?2011-01-02T02:55:16+00:00

The Forums Forums I Just Found Out! Help! HELP! Is age effecting my ADHD symptoms or am I just worn out from all the fun?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi.

I’m a newbie to this site and to the idea that there is something “wrong” with me.

Even as a chld I knew what my teachers and other adults including my parents were

saying WASN’T true. I’m not “lazy”, I’m not “not applying myself”, I’m not “just not trying”. They just couldn’t see what I was seeing, they couldn’t feel the things

I felt and they didn’t know the things I already knew. And I couldn’t for the life of me

figure out how to explain “it” or myself.

A good portion if my “pressure to conform” subsided when I reached Jr. High.

I loved sports and actually excelled at ALL of them.? (go figure)

A great deal of relief came due to repetitive daily class assignments carrying much less weight

in the overall class score. 10% at the very most. Quizzes, exams and finals made up the 90%.

I went from teachers passing me based on test scores and because they just couldn’t

bare to have me disrupting their class another year to not just passing but practically straight “A’s”.

Needless to say, but I’m gonna anyway, I developed a new found relationship with my folks, teachers and other linear thinking people in general. I soon became known as ” fun to be around”, “a kid with a great sense of humor”, “a prankster”, and yes “ornery”. No more was I the mean, rude, thoughtless troublemaker that I was labeled and carried with me for 11-12 years.

Life was great and just kept getting greater and greater!