Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Holding yourself accountable

Holding yourself accountable2011-04-03T07:00:03+00:00
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Stephen

I would be interested in your thoughts on this: How do you honour a commitment you’ve made to yourself?

For example: I have a project that’s due in a couple of weeks. I know I’m prone to overwhelming myself so I’ve broken the project down into smaller chunks. I’ve scheduled the first chunk of the project at a specific time on a specific day. When that day and time comes around I start reading blogs, going for coffee, playing video games – anything but the thing I’VE “COMMITTED” TO DOING. It’s like hitting the snooze bar on work.

I’m self employed and work from home (I’m a web designer) and without the external pressure of a deadline imposed by someone else I’ll put the work off as long as I can. Eventually, the project is due and I need to hammer on it to get it done on time. The work is never as good as I think it could be and that bothers me to no end. When I had a 9-5 job this wasn’t as much as an issue as I had others that I was accountable to.

Now I recognize all my ADD behaviour and I know why I do what I do but that doesn’t get me to follow through when I tell myself I’m going to. Aside from the obvious problems that arise from this behaviour, the worst part is how I feel about myself for not doing the thing I said I was going to do. I try to not beat myself up over it but it’s hard when you’ve been doing that for years.

How do you honour your own self imposed commitments and take action when you say you want to?

REPORT ABUSE

Lindstr7