Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

How much chance do you have to "pass it on" ?

How much chance do you have to "pass it on" ?2010-04-08T18:39:36+00:00

The Forums Forums Ask The Community How much chance do you have to "pass it on" ?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Greetings,

I am currently waiting to see my general practitionner to have an ADD assesment. I had a first meeting with him where he ask question about my general health, but when I mentionned ADD to him he dismissed it out of hand, saying that I would have been diagnosed in childhood (I am 38) and since I graduated from university.. was impossible. Anyway, I guess I made more a point then I thought.. he called me at home for another appointement and ask me to bring all the self-assment I filled out !

Anyway, (sorry I tend to babble…guess I am not the only one around here..)…

My question: IF the diagnostic say ADD…. what are the chances that my children might also suffer from it? Since there is a genetic factor, I tend to believe they are more at risk.. but… is that so?

And if it is so: we know bad parenting does not cause ADD, but is there any positive reinforcement or trick we can/could use to be pro-active?

Thanks!

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

It’s genetic, so there isn’t really anything you could do to prevent your child from developing it. My mom was really nurturing when I was little. She taught me to read when I was just a toddler, and encouraged me to learn more about anything & everything that interested me. She really built up my brain. But if you saw how she over-plans things (especially big dinners), then gets side-tracked onto a million tangents, causing her to completely freak out, you’d immediately see where I got it from.