Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

I don't think the "typical" ADHD jobs are for me…

I don't think the "typical" ADHD jobs are for me…2014-04-08T16:50:32+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Bend The Workplace To You I don't think the "typical" ADHD jobs are for me…

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

kseniiaadhd
    Participant

I’ve looked at the lists that say what careers ADHDers are best suited for, and I don’t think I’m suited for any of them.

I’m currently a marketing writer for a company, and want to eventually become a child and family psychologist. Neither one of these careers are recommended, probably because of the amount of sitting/listening you have to do in both jobs. I understand that, but I can’t think of anything I would rather do than help children and families navigate life and transitions. Helping people has always been a part of who I am.

I am medicated right now (though we are still working out dosage….*sigh*), and think it would go a long way to helping make these careers possible. But does anyone have any advice on how to make a new, sedentary career work for an adult with ADHD?

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

@kseniiaadhd, welcome aboard!

Don’t get too hung up on “recommended careers for ADDers”. There’s no such thing. Every ADDer is different, because we’re driven by what’s interesting to us. Believe it or not, there are some ADDers who thrive as accountants, because they find numbers so interesting!

There are plenty of ADDers who are psychologists and ADHD Coaches. (I was diagnosed 4 years ago, and I’m studying to be a Coach.) Many do their sessions by phone, using a cordless headset so they can pace the room while they work.

Writers don’t have to be sedentary either. They can use speech-to-text software, to dictate their writing while pacing the room. Or set up a treadmill desk, and walk while they type.