Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Looking for Help

Looking for Help2012-05-05T09:29:57+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey My Story Looking for Help

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

So this is my first time posting. I had seen the film awhile back but hadn’t really given much thought over any of it until recently.

I was given a diagnosis in early teen years off ADD with out hyperactivity. I’ve always been a constant day dreamer and of course at the time they started treatment with therapy and Ritalin. It worked well my GPA went straight up to a 4.0 and stood there for about 2 years before it started falling again.

This resulted in increasing my medication in my mid teen years in high school. I would sit and class feeling strung out from all the meds (I no longer remember the exact dosage.) but i would take water release twice a day, along with extend release, and bynedril at night to help me sleep. I remember sitting in art class in senior year feeling cold all the time and itching my arms (sometimes until they would bleed.) at that point i had become fed up with the entire idea of ADD and decided that this was some form of mental control to take creative people who think differently and make them like the general population. Angry, young rebellious I flushed all my meds down the sink and told my parents it would be a cold day in hell before I ever took it again. Ended up going threw some nasty withdrawl symptoms along with it. My grades pummeled to hell but no one noticed really because my folks went threw a divorce the same year and I won a bunch of Art awards threw scholastic and even had work hang in the white house in D.C. However my life behind me was crumbling, drugs, and booze became my new medication with out me really realizing it.