Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Looking for resources to help Boss Understand

Looking for resources to help Boss Understand2014-02-11T18:05:48+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Bend The Workplace To You Looking for resources to help Boss Understand

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Ivriniel
    Participant

Hi Everyone,

I am a teacher, and this year I asked for workplace accommodations for my ADHD.

The response from my Principal seems well-meaning, but I really don’t think he quite understands what my challenges are.

The sense I am getting is that he thinks this should be a quick fix: He’s arranged for 6 sessions with a “coach” (but this person is not an ADHD coach, they are a retired teacher with some Spec Ed experience) however, these six sessions have to take place in a 3 week period, because after that the coach will be unavailable.

Even outside of ADHD issues, this seems to fly in the face of what the research tells us about implementing new strategies and the “implementation gap”. Throw ADHD in on top of that, and this feels like this approach is doomed to failure.

Anyways, I am looking for resources I can direct the Principal to, to better help him understand how ADHD, and especially adult ADHD works. Preferably short videos and articles rather than long books, because I want to increase the likelihood that he will actually read/view what I give him.

Obviously, there are videos and whatnot here, but are there other places I should direct him to?

REPORT ABUSE

kc5jck
    Participant

Your principal is probably just not interested at this point.  Which is too bad because statistically, about one out of twenty five of his students and teachers have ADD.