Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

medications while pregnant

medications while pregnant2010-07-05T20:40:34+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication medications while pregnant

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

My fiance and I are having the talk about when to start a family and how many (i said if we survive the first then we’ll talk LOL), and we are trying to do some research first as far as medications while pregnant.

I have some knowledge about teratogens, and from what I’ve been able to find, a lot of people have gone off of their meds while pregnant. A lot isn’t known on effects of these meds while expecting, but what has been noticed is low birth weight and early delivery.

If there are Drs on here, are there any prescriptions that are a bit safer than others? Any patterns you have observed?

Has anyone been told they could be on meds while preggo? If so, what effects did you find?

Has anyone gone off of their meds to be pregnant? what was your experience like? How long did you wait til you went back on?

REPORT ABUSE

purlgurl

I am not pregnant/have not been pregnant yet, but my understanding is that a *really* careful cost-benefit analysis (like with antidepressants) is recommended, and that one should try to go off meds if possible. The difficulty is that, for obvious reasons, there is great reluctance/it is viewed as unethical to conduct clinical trials of drugs on women who are pregnant. The website http://www.womenshealth.gov (U.S. site) gives the following answers in their FAQs:

Is it safe to use medicine while I am pregnant?

There is no clear-cut answer to this question. Before you start or stop any medicine, it is always best to speak with the doctor who is caring for you while you are pregnant. Read on to learn about deciding to use medicine while pregnant.

Where do doctors and nurses find out about using medicines during pregnancy?