Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Music and Focus

Music and Focus2011-03-19T01:07:10+00:00
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Has anyone had any success in using music as a way to concentrate? If so, what is the best music that increases focus when reading or studying?

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

I always prefer an album that has the same musical tone from beginning to end. It helps me relax, concentrate. I like R.E.M.’s albums Out of time and Automatic for the people.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

I heard listening to Mozart was an idea.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Mozart and Bach and renaissance, baroque and classical in general are good for when I’m doing mindless, repetitive work. Also, Jack Johnson, Fats Waller, and Eric Clapton. I guess anything with a strong beat. But when I’m studying I have to have dead silence. My son, however, likes anything without words when he’s studying. Just try different types of music until you find what works.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

I like rock, punk, or heavy metal music when I am trying to concentrate. Metallica, Greenday, Eagles and similar is very relaxing to me.

I know classical is supposed to be the best, but I can get lost in well played classical music (my imagination tries to come up with words or a story to go with instrumental music) and I get annoyed by badly played classical music.

REPORT ABUSE

jpsimard

I think this is one of the cases where if you’d ask 100 people, you’d get 100 different answers. I’m a classical musician, so I lean towards the classics… then again, I could also lose myself in jazz, musical theatre… rock… whatever is just… good!

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive