Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

My story – Diagnosed at 29

My story – Diagnosed at 292010-12-07T05:29:00+00:00

The Forums Forums What is it? ADHD/ADD in Adults My story – Diagnosed at 29

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I was diagnosed last year at 29 years old after struggling with my career for five years after college. I graduated with an engineering degree from a good four-year college, and did alright in school, and stayed out of trouble. I came from a family where my father was a high school dropout, with symptoms of ADHD and more-or-less oppositional behavior. My brother was diagnosed at a young age with ADD. I evaded a diagnosis, likely because I excelled in certain subjects in school, and did relatively well for myself throughout school and college.

When I started my career as an engineer, I ran into ever-increasing difficulties with managing myself at home and at work. WIthout the framework of a school environment, and the requirement to manage my own time and be accountable for it, I became depressed and very down on myself. I sought professional help again at 27 for anxiety and depression, but felt throwing anti-anxiety pills at the problem wasn’t the right way to go. I took a test for ADHD after meeting with a social worker, where I scored incredibly high for ADD/ADHD.