Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Nasal Congestion

Nasal Congestion2011-01-24T10:41:09+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication Nasal Congestion

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I recently started concerta, ramping up week by week. I think I have found the right dose at 72 mg since I have started this dose I wake up completely plugged and with a sore throat from mouth breathing all night. I started to take a decongestant at night just to sleep, but even that it isn;’t working , I am almost at the point I want to try just taking an 18mg concerta so I can breath at night. I am a pharmacist by trade and work in mental health as part of my job, but the combination of perennial allergic rhinitis and ADHD meds causing rebound congestion just doesn’t come up that often. Wondering if this happens to anybody else or in anybody has some answers.

Thanks

Ringo

REPORT ABUSE

turbo

Ringo-

Out of curiosity what is the humidity level in your home like? Mine drops pretty quickly as the winter goes on (got down to <30% in January) and that can cause your nose to plug up too.

Not sure if this is your problem, or may be contributing to it.

I now use a humidifier in the bedroom and run it until water is just begining to condense on the windows. I do find it easier to breathe and that I am not so “dired out” come morning time.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Don’t forget these medications are diuretics – they will dry you out significantly. My house has lots of solid wood, and even having steam injection humidifiers on my furnaces, they barely keeps it at 25% during the Canadian winter.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks! I didn’t even think about the humidity. It’s dry as a bone around here. But I am definitely getting some rebound congestion, i know when the medication is working cause I can breath again.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive