Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

newly diagnosed, but questions regarding medication

newly diagnosed, but questions regarding medication2012-01-30T04:23:52+00:00

The Forums Forums I Just Found Out! I Have a Diagnosis, Now What? newly diagnosed, but questions regarding medication

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Let me begin by giving some background information.

I am a 20 year old student in University, I was just recently diagnosed with mild to moderate adhd, after completing an 8 hour examination, I will be receiving the full information results shortly; however the psychologist left, but stating she is confident I do have a mild to moderate form after completing the examination. Now my dilemma comes in with the medication part, I actually started a trial run of medication this past summer prior to full diagnosis by talking to my GP just because I was having some concentration, memory and mood issues. I also got some blood-work done and was found out to be B-12 deficient. I started of with 10 mg of adderall xr once a day, now the medication was good at first, but I did have some problems in the beginning, just basic lack of appetite and insomnia. It eventually progressed into some prostate problems and I was switched over to 20 mg ritalin sr once a day. At first ritalin was good, no insomnia issues, but than I started having serious anxiety issues and terrible vivid dreams at night. It came to the point where I ended up quitting meds altogether for about 4 months. Now my issue is that now I am diagnosed, I am a bit more prone to giving medication another shot or maybe even natural alternatives, to deal with some lethargy issues, but I was wondering given my past experiences with meds is there any meds I should use? I’ve heard vyanese isn’t too bad in terms of side effects. Thanks in advance for the help.

REPORT ABUSE

kc5jck
    Participant