Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Paralyzed for words in priority situations at work

Paralyzed for words in priority situations at work2013-09-17T09:15:44+00:00

The Forums Forums Ask The Community Paralyzed for words in priority situations at work

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

jensters1205
    Participant

I was diagnosed at 25 officially my grandmother told me at 16 I had add. I work in retail I have for 20+ years Overall I do a good job. i am in store management now And often times in high stress situations when dealing with customers who are very upset I freeze. Words elude me, Often times it’s because I am running every possible scenario that I might be able to do to resolve the situation in my head. sometimes i freeze because the person i have to deal with is being, in my opinion, ridiculous and I feel like if I say something i will be curt sometimes I:
    1.I fear that I may have backlash from that at some point if they call corporate.
    2. I am so flabbergasted, i cannot wrap my head around why anyone would be so upset about something that isnt life threatening that I can’t say anything other then I’m sorry.

3.I know if I do speak to them they won’t hear me anyway and words that they may be able to hear I can’t say because all I want to do is yell at them and say “what the fuck, Sorry i didnt hear you the first time” or simply say “sorry I do my best and I don’t deserve your anger. If you had a bad day or are overly frustrated because people are HUMAN welcome to life,…get over it! I deal with it all day and i understand it’s mostly small stuff. If you got a bad peach will your world end? …I doubt it asshole”