Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

People pleasing/being overly sensitive

People pleasing/being overly sensitive2013-04-13T21:17:13+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Strategies for Work People pleasing/being overly sensitive

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

phoenixmagicgirl

I’ll admit that I’m a huge people pleaser and I’ve found out through my job that its becoming a very bad quality to have. I work as a busser in a restaurant. My boss pointed out to me that I need to learn to say no, but in a polite way. (I found out the hard way that saying it not as nicely people get angry…call me nieve).  What are some strategies that have worked for others?

I wasn’t sure where to put this next question, but has anyone else had a problem with being overly sensitive to what others say or how they act toward you..in terms of reading others emotions?

REPORT ABUSE

pigmonkey

as to being sensitive, I have a couple of ways to deal with these problems, first I adopted this point of view with most people.  “do not equate to malice what can adequately be explained by ignorance.”  or generally, people aren’t mean they’re stupid.  I find that makes it far easier for me to feel sympathy for them than anger.

Also if someone says something and you take it badly say it back to your self in your head but this time hear it like they were saying it with helium, high a squeaky.  If it is still really offensive and not funny or silly then you probably have a reason to be angry.

as for pleasing others, that is a fine balance.  Saying No with confidence is something rare I find.  Saying no is not a bad thing, usually all it is is knowing your time commitments and accurately estimating your time to do those commitments.  If you dont have the time you dont have the time.