Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Playing all of the songs of a record at one time!

Playing all of the songs of a record at one time!2011-08-07T22:38:46+00:00

The Forums Forums I Just Found Out! My Story Playing all of the songs of a record at one time!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I was actually diagnosed with ADD back when I was a sophomore in high school (when I was 16 years old). At the time the doctor put me on ritalin (or however it is spelled). I had to take it twice a day, once in the morning and once at noon. Since I was still in school at the time I would actually take half of the month’s prescription to the principal at the school and then go to him before lunch each day and take my afternoon dose. Talking with some of the other people that were on ritalin and they would say how much different it would make them feel and that is generally seemed to help them with school. I, on the other hand, didn’t feel any different when I was on it than I did when I wasn’t. I remember that the doctor told me during my appointment that the meds weren’t going to just solve my problem and that I had to want the change and work hard at it. At one point I made a conscience decision not to take it anymore, but I didn’t tell my parents. They didn’t find out until they went to the school for parent-teacher conferences and the principal asked if I was still suppose to be taking it. When they came home that evening we talked about me taking my Ritalin any longer and we decided that I didn’t have to keep taking it as long as I promised to put in the effort to ensure my grades stayed up. I was never put back on Ritalin and, though I struggled at times, I made it through the rest of high school and it was with the rest of my class.