Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Recent college grad so overwhelmed by job search — advice?

Recent college grad so overwhelmed by job search — advice?2012-04-01T23:44:53+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Struggling Recent college grad so overwhelmed by job search — advice?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi all,

I graduated from college not quite a year ago, and I’m still unemployed and living with my parents. I have a part-time job as a babysitter, so I’m not starving to death, but I’m barely scraping by paying for gas and groceries. I really want to move out of my hometown and find a “real” job, but my distractability/lack of focus/lack of self-confidence is like an ENORMOUS WALL blocking me from moving forward.

I finally got my ADHD diagnosis about six months ago (yeah…six months after graduating from college…that sucked) and I understand myself a lot more now. I think that, if I were to get a “real”, grown-up job, I’d be able to succeed in it. But my life right now has basically no external structure, and it’s so freaking hard to get myself together to apply for a better job. Especially because, as a fresh college grad in this economy, I know it’s going to probably take me MONTHS to find a real job. The idea of me coming up with the self-discipline to spend several hours a day for 3-4 months consistently putting effort into a project with no firm deadlines, structure, or accountability? HAHAHAHAHAHA. Hysterical. Pull the other one, it’s got bells on.

I’m working with a psychiatrist to find a medication approach that works for me, I’m trying to force some structure onto myself, I’ve asked me friends to help hold me accountable to my schedule…but I just don’t write the applications. I just feel so overwhelmed by the whole process that I can’t even start working on it.