Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Returning to the workforce after 18 year absence

Returning to the workforce after 18 year absence2011-04-13T16:55:33+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Struggling Returning to the workforce after 18 year absence

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Lindstr7

Now that I have this ADD thing somewhat under control, I feel more confident about going back to work. I’m going to lose my income when my child turns 18, which is August of next year. I worked as a grants manager in ’93 and I know enough Word to type letters, etc., but does anyone have any suggestions about where to start? Should I go back to school? Should I go to a temp agency? I don’t even know what they use in offices anymore besides MS Office Suite, or what is most in demand these days.

Whenever I tried to send out resumes, with my work history, I never even got a response. I’m guessing its because I’ve had no actual work experience since 1993, and I never managed to finish a degree, so kids half my age are given more consideration than me (i’m 50). I did do some mystery shopping in the last few years, but its an enourmous amount of paperwork for very little reward and it looks pretty lame on a resume so I leave it out.

Some of you here seem to have pretty good jobs and college degrees, even with ADD. Can anyone offer suggestions or share their experience in returning to work after such a long absence. Do I even stand a chance? Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

REPORT ABUSE

BuxomDiva
    Participant

You don’t mention where you live, and I think that’s very relevant. Are there agencies in your community that can help you transition back in to the workforce?