Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

School study skills

School study skills2010-08-20T17:25:49+00:00

The Forums Forums Tools, Techniques & Treatments School study skills

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hey there. I currently work as an EMT/Paramedic and will returning to school in a month to start a two year course for my Advanced Paramedic training. I love my job and have the ability to think fast, remain calm and work well in a practical nature. The next level course has lots and lots of memorization, reading, drug dosages, names, interactions, protocols, etc and to top it off I am undertaken their distance program… I know this course is going to cause me problems for my lack of study skills (right now I should be learning drug dosages for my pass/fail first day!).

So my question to all is… what study techniques can work with someone is newly diagnosed with ADD?

Thanks in advance!

REPORT ABUSE

Monika

Hi Ritchie,

Congratulations on continuing your education. My favorite Greek sayings are “Nothing in Excess” and “Know Thyself”. Ok, well, the first one won’t apply to you but the second quote will.

What type of learner are you?

Think about how you learn best.

Are you a visual learner?

Perhaps color coded lists/charts for the different drugs. You can organize them according to how common they are. Put all the dosages in different colors. ex. normal dose green, higher dose yellow, dangerous dose red or perhaps red for interactions?

An Auditory learner? use your MP3 player to record the drug protocols (only do 5 minutes at a time and make your voice interested and lively or perhaps you may fall asleep) then listen every chance you get. In the car, the shower (if MP3 is waterproof), when brushing your teeth