Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Stressing out during chaotic situations…advice please!

Stressing out during chaotic situations…advice please!2013-04-05T20:40:53+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication Dexedrine Stressing out during chaotic situations…advice please!

Free medication video
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

phoenixmagicgirl

I’ve been on Dex. for years now and have found that it really works well for me. However, I’ve found that at times (while being on Dex.) that I can be calm in chaotic situations at work (I work as a  busser in a busy Cafe). Other times I kind of freak out a bit, mentally and emotionally  when it when it get busy… do you have any advice for me ? Thanks

REPORT ABUSE

MarieAngell

@Phoenixmagicgirl, is the freaking out when it’s busy different now? Is this a new thing or are you recognizing it now since sometimes you’re calm?

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

@Phoenixmagic, ADHD symptoms are often very situational.

For example, you could be really great at Math, but struggling with History, English, and Geography.  You’re not stupid or lazy, because you can’t do equally well at those other subjects.  There’s just something about Math that stimulates your brain in a way that the other subjects don’t.  And when our ADHD brains are NOT stimulated by something, it’s much harder for us to concentrate on it long enough to learn it.

Maybe your different responses to chaotic situations, are because the situations are different.

So, ask yourself, what’s the difference between the situations that really stress you out, and the situations when you thrive on the chaos?

I’d look at duration and intensity, first.

Duration:  Maybe you’re fresher at the start of your shift, so you thrive; but at the end of your shift, you’re tired, so the chaos is too much for you.