Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Substitute Teacher – Dealing With Classroom "Chatter"

Substitute Teacher – Dealing With Classroom "Chatter"2012-09-24T01:27:28+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Strategies for Work Substitute Teacher – Dealing With Classroom "Chatter"

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hopefully someone can give me some advice here…

I am a substitute teacher (been out of work as a regular teacher for 3 years now due to the economy). All too often, the teacher I’m subbing for will have the students work on independent work or group projects while they’re gone. This is fine…except for the fact that all the chatter in the classroom tends to overwhelm my ADD! It’s to the point where I can barely function at the end of the school day and I need to go home and sit in silence for the rest of the afternoon.

Does anybody have any ideas how to handle these situations??? Thanks!

REPORT ABUSE

Misswho23

I’m not a teacher but too much activity or noise either at work or some social situations does get to me at times. I have often gone home to find my brain buzzing and at one point would self medicate with a glass of wine. It was ok at first but since I didn’t really understand my ADHD it became a bit too much and started to cause me problems.