Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Teacher with ADD College student – Help!

Teacher with ADD College student – Help!2013-11-25T20:59:23+00:00

The Forums Forums For The Non-ADD Other Teacher with ADD College student – Help!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

profph

I teach a pre-college class for adults who dropped out of high school, or who have a history of interrupted education, or teen moms, or other adults who’ve had educational difficulties.  I have a lot of students with learning disabilities and who need a lot of help, I’ve had dozens of ADD students before (my husband has ADD, too), and I’ve been doing this for a few years, so I thought I knew what to do to help anyone in my class… but now I have this student in his early twenties who has ADD and I don’t know what to do.

He’s a good guy – he’s friendly and kind and smart.  But he’s only managed to complete one little assignment in the last two months.  He can’t focus in class, or at home on his homework.  I have no idea if he’s medicated, though I seriously doubt it.  He’s constantly interrupting me and his classmates, making it harder for them to concentrate, too (most of them have LDs of their own that make class hard enough for them without more distractions).  He interrupts class discussions as well as other people’s private conversations.

I’m frustrated, and the other adults in the class are getting really angry at him.   There’s a lot of info out there for teachers of CHILDREN who have ADD, but I teach ADULTS – could someone please give me some hints about what to do to help this young man?  I need to know what to do to help him stay focused in class and on his work, and to stop interrupting everyone else.  I need to know some strategies to help him in my class, and that he can use when he gets into college.  Any links or advice would be very much appreciated!

REPORT ABUSE

blackdog