Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

This is me:)

This is me:)2012-10-02T03:16:30+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey My Story This is me:)

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

firechild

Hi,

I’ve done some random postings here before soi figured maybe it was time todo an official “this is me” post

Right now I’m a 32 year old student doing my 3rd post secondary degree- this one is in library information and technology to become a library technician.

I was first officially diagnoses with ADD and learning disabilities when I was 5. However before becoming a housewife my Mother was a teacher who worked with special Ed students and she seemed to know something was up with me. She had me in several per school programs in order to keep me busy.

In grade school for the first two years I did a half day in a special Ed class and a half day in the regular class which I think really helped me. I’m actually a proponent of that style of system for kids with special needs. After grade 3 I would only spend maybe one class or two in the special Ed room. Also in grade 3 I was identified as gifted and was moved into a different school and program.

I knew I was different from other kids but didn’t know about ADD or LDs until grade five when a teacher told me my grades had been modified due to my learning disabilities…I was flabbergasted and had a frank talk with my parents. After that I became in charge of advocating for myself and my needs and was very good at talking tommy teachers.

Being overly neruotic about grades and school my ADD really didn’t cause me to much trouble on the academic side of high school but like many of us here I had a much harder time socially, never really fitting in except for a selected few. Things got better in both university and then later at college, but I still tend to get burned by ADD behaviours when it comes to social things.