Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Trying to decide on treatment

Trying to decide on treatment2010-11-16T18:29:27+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey My Story Trying to decide on treatment

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I 38, but never been treated for ADHD. Now I feel the great need to get help. Need some info about works best.

REPORT ABUSE

Ivriniel
    Participant

Well, “what works best” tends to be a highly personal thing, based on your symptoms and own personal circumstances.

That being said, the research indicates that in general, medication gives you the biggest bang for your buck. It’s even better when it is accompanied with counselling around lifestyle changes.

I’m 37, and I just started taking meds last week. So far, it does seem to be helping a bit.

REPORT ABUSE

Buz

I agree with Ivriniel. After 4 months I’m just beginning to get the meds ‘right’, but the real nut to crack is lifestyle changes, including extricating oneself from the chaos! I get my meds covered and the psyciatrist is covered under our provincial medical services plan. So it is a good investment for me to pay to see a counselor, who can help with lifestyle changes, stress management, weird thinking etc. But it is a very personal thing as Ivrinel says. You will find yourself building your own team.

REPORT ABUSE

Rick Green – Founder of TotallyADD
    Participant

As everyone will agree, ADHD looks different in different people.

So lvriniel is right, your ‘treatment’ will be specific for you.

By adulthood some of us have found ways to cope with some symptoms. (Whether they’re good coping mechanisms is another discussion altogether.) As well, we all have different circumstances. When I’m working on a television production organization and time management are crucial for me.