Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Trying [How] to help a homeless man diagnosed with ADHD

Trying [How] to help a homeless man diagnosed with ADHD2019-01-01T14:50:29+00:00

The Forums Forums For The Non-ADD Other Trying [How] to help a homeless man diagnosed with ADHD

Viewing 0 posts

Tagged: 

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

tallulahdahling
    Participant

There’s a homeless man in the city neighborhood (Melbourne, Australia) where I live that I’ve been noticing for a few years. He’s never drunk nor does he seem to be on drugs. Every once in a while when he asked me for money, I’d give him a little something. And then we got so we’d have a little conversation once in a while. I found him to be intelligent, perceptive, and considerate, and when I discovered this his plight really got into my head. It kept bugging me.

He finally told me that he’d been diagnosed with ADHD, and this is what has gotten in the way of him keeping a job.

Recently when I couldn’t give him money he asked if we could just talk, because he’s so lonely and never gets to talk with anybody about interesting things. And we did, indeed, talk about interesting things. I enjoy our conversations. I *do* believe he has the ADHD he claims to have. He’s got a very active mind and asks interesting questions and can bounce from one topic to another with ease and speed.

This is a man whose abilities and life are going to waste and who is in a pretty big hole right now, as he’s been homeless for quite a while. He’s been feeling especially desperate because he has recently turned 49 and he has been feeling that time is running out for him to get a decent and fulfilling life that he can be proud of.