Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

What might have been

What might have been2010-11-29T02:30:49+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Stuck in Regret/Anger What might have been

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I just joined this forum today. I was diagnosed with what was called “severe ADHD” when I was in my mid forties. It was such a relief to finally understand that there was a real reason for me to be the way I was. I bought the book, ” You Mean I’m Not Lazy, Stupid, or Crazy” and I actually cried when I read parts of it. Then, I wanted to run around to everyone I had ever known and force them to read it too, so that they would not blame me anymore for how I had been. I am sixty-three now and have made some pretty good progress in the last twenty years. I graduated from college with honors at the age of fifty, and I am a successfull substance dependence counselor, well respected by my collegues and the people I counsel. But, that progress is also at the core of my current problem. I can’t seem to get past the feeling of what my life could have been if I had known about the ADHD a long time ago. If I was able to accomplish this much in a relativly short time, what could I have accomplished and where could I be in life by now. There were so many things I would have liked to have done, but lacked the confidence to even try because I grew up believing I did not have any abilities. I realize now that I could have done any of them. It seems that others my age are retireing, moving perminently into their “dream home”, finally taking that world cruise they have always talked about, ect. The key element to my current retirement plan is that I have to drop dead on the job.

. I just can not seem to shake the disappointment I feel over all the lost opportunities.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive