Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

What to do with my life?

What to do with my life?2011-07-27T09:44:35+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Struggling What to do with my life?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

About a year ago (I am 29 year old) I was officially diagnosed with ADD/ADHD. I went out to seek professional help because I was having problems at work. Even though I thought I was trying really hard I ended making mistakes very often and at some point it became unacceptable to my superiors.

Back then, my job had to do a lot with numbers. I used to be an analyst and conducting reports that involved numbers was a major part of my job. Even though I used to check every document I gave out very thoroughly, (or at least I thought I was) I kept making mistakes. The funny thing is that my BA was in Business Administration and my postgraduate studies were in Accounting and Financial Management. I had it coming! Studying Accounting is one thing, but working in accounting is a whole different matter. I really hated my job and I didn’t know what to do. I thought that I wouldn’t be able to make a career out of it. I was stuck in a job that didn’t stimulate me and I found it very uninteresting. So, I arranged a meeting with the HR department of the company and I got transferred. I am more satisfied in my new job but it is very different from what I used to do and has little to do with my studies.

The thing is, that I want to succeed in life and earn an amount of money that will suit my needs. don’t know if I can make it, if I keep making career shifts. If you take a look at my resume you will see that I have made 3 career changes over the past 6 years. I can’t seem to find something that I am really good at.