Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

What to look for when getting diagnosed with Adult ADHD

What to look for when getting diagnosed with Adult ADHD2012-05-18T16:36:03+00:00

The Forums Forums I Just Found Out! I Suspect I Am What to look for when getting diagnosed with Adult ADHD

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

My name is Nichole. I’m a registered nurse, recently diagnosed with Adult ADHD – combination subtype. I’ve just finished my journey through the meat-grinding, mind-losing, patience-testing process of getting diagnosed. I want to share what I have learned.

1) Don’t stop educating yourself. Read everything. Most books about ADHD are set up to accommodate the way we read, i.e.: a little at a time, jumping from chapter to chapter, OR so hyperfocused you get through the whole thing cover-to-cover in 4 hours.

2) Stop blaming yourself. Easier said than done. And much easier on medication than not.

3) (Try to) be patient. Getting diagnosed can be a long, arduous, tearful, frustrating journey. For example, I began having my suspicions in November 2011 when I lost my job. I was diagnosed this Wednesday, May 16th, 2012.

4) Don’t stop living. As you approach your final report day, you will get emotional. I got very depressed. Your life does not depend on this diagnosis, even though it feels like it. Get out and do the things you love.

5) Start remembering. You will be asked about your childhood. Whenever you remember something that might be relevant, write it down. What did your parents think of you when you were young? Write that down. Doctors want to know about behaviour as early as <7years.