Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Writing a paper – need help with accountability!

Writing a paper – need help with accountability!2013-04-27T11:41:44+00:00

The Forums Forums Tools, Techniques & Treatments Motivation/Staying on Track Writing a paper – need help with accountability!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

kmkathymag

Hello all! I am a graduate student who’s been writing my thesis for about, oh, 2 years now. If I could get a graduate degree in procrastination, I’d be golden. Unfortunately, I need to overcome my anxiety about writing and my anxiety about my chattering mind, and sit and DO IT.

I used to Skype with another adult student with ADHD, and we’d meet weekday nights to just check in, chat, and then write or research for 1/2 an hour. That was all – 1/2 an hour. I got most of the writing I’ve done by this method.

Anyway, has anybody else used this method? Would anyone be interested in having an accountability buddy to do whatever project it is you need to do?

Any suggestions about procrastination in general would also be appreciated. By me. 🙂

Kath

REPORT ABUSE

Wgreen
    Participant

Out of curiosity, what’s the subject of your thesis?

REPORT ABUSE

kmkathymag

It’s about Henry Fielding’s novel Joseph Andrews. I refer to various critics, including Russian Mikhail Bakhtin.

REPORT ABUSE

Scattybird
    Participant

I find an accountability buddy has to be someone with some control over me or someone I don’t want to let down.

Many years go when I was trying to write my thesis I went home and asked my Mother to not let me out of my bedroom until I had written the introduction/literature review. She took me at my word and wouldn’t let me out for anything other than essentials.  It worked. I sat through the boredom, the panic that I couldn’t do it and eventually got started. Once I had done that section the rest was easier.