Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

A conundrum

A conundrum2010-02-20T14:40:19+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Who to Tell? A conundrum

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

ADDled

I might have an opportunity to start with another company doing what I do now. The thing is this, and maybe it’s catastrophic thinking rearing it’s ugly head, but bear with me. It’s hard to explain to non ADHDers what I’m feeling and maybe I can get some advice from the readers on the forum.

The current job I’m at I’ve been doing for ten years and I’m in my mid 50’s. (But with ADHD, I’m mentally 30 but with the wisdom of a 70 year-old, apparently).

Because of specific issues at work regarding my performance (all related to ADHD), I have been passed over for promotion several times and am now working under people I have trained during the last several years. I did this with the mistaken belief that my humility, as a virtue, would be considered as teamwork, or leadership, or whatever. Didn’t get a raise this year, either.

I have fully disclosed my recently diagnosed ADHD and the company has offered very little in the way of accommodation, in spite of my doctor’s recommendation.

I’m made to feel that I can no longer “add value” to the company and my role and contribution has been marginalized on a relatively consistent basis. I get basically the type of work handled by people at an entry level, I never get the challenging assignments that has allowed other people to pole-vault their careers ahead of me. And travel for company business, or seminars, well, forget it, ADDled, “your lucky just to have a job. See these resumes on my desk?….).They just want me to go away.

The thing is this. With the possibility of starting a new job in a new company, am I exchanging one set set of stressors for another?