Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Beating yourself up about your mistakes – especially if they affect others

Beating yourself up about your mistakes – especially if they affect others2011-06-09T22:49:24+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Stuck in Regret/Anger Beating yourself up about your mistakes – especially if they affect others

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I have been diagnosed with ADD when I was 17. I am now 25 and find that I can handle most of the issues pretty well and embrace my ADD, being myself has become easier as I have grown emotionally and worked through a lot of things with help and by myself. I don’t take medication because I feel it makes me feel worse, also I’m a musician so in a way, it’s okay for me to be chaotic, people expect that and I do what I love so I can be myself, cause I work focused on music, am super organized when it comes to my calendar and replying important emails (not letters, emails) – which uses up all my energy for the rest so my room is a mess and my paperwork, but I get by somehow as I think that going through the whole thing has helped me gained strength dealing with it. Plus my father was older (he died 3 years ago), which I think also helped me develop a sense of dealing with issues. Still there is one major thing i don’t know how to deal with.

It’s that feeling of guilt when you know you made a mistake. I’m not talking about missing your bus stop cause you were daydreaming or getting off one too early because a part of your brain though: “oh, one more stop” which somehow turned into: “oh, I have to get off here”, not talking about losing my key, zoning out, blanking when speaking, forgetting stuff (someone sneezed on table next to ours at dinner in restaurant…. “erm, what was I just talking about? Right!”)