Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Concerta and irritability

Concerta and irritability2011-03-29T18:02:50+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication Concerta Concerta and irritability

Free medication video
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Stephen

I’ve been using Concerta on and off since December of 2010. I was taking 18mg twice a day, once in the am around 8 and another “booster” around 3pm. Later I would only take one 18mg pill in the morning and nothing in the afternoon after I noticed the medication seemed to have little effect later in the day.

I’m off it these days as I found myself to be more impatient and irritable around the dinner hour. Is that a normal side effect of Concerta? Have you had a similar experience?

My wife has commented that there’s an obvious difference in my personality when I’m on the meds as well. She says she notices I’m much more myself (relaxed, easy going, laugh a lot) then when I’m on the Concerta (excitable, more animated, irritable). I really liked the way I would “wake up” after the first dose but I always felt like “I was on drugs”. I also didn’t like how my mood would dive later in the day.

Are there other options available? Are there medications that can help me focus, follow through and complete tasks without me feeling medicated during the day or feeling grumpy in the evening?

REPORT ABUSE

Lindstr7

Have you checked out the “medication” forum? As far as I know Strattera is a non-stimulant drug, but there may be others. If its making you irritable, probably not the best choice for ou….have you spoken to your dr. about it?

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive