Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Do you have Predominantly Inattentive Subtype ADD, too?

Do you have Predominantly Inattentive Subtype ADD, too?2010-11-14T15:56:33+00:00

The Forums Forums What is it? Inattention/Distractibility/Focus Do you have Predominantly Inattentive Subtype ADD, too?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi, everyone. Newbie here. Been reading a lot of the forum postings and identified with most of the feelings: being bullied, being marginalized, being belittled, feeling like increasingly people don’t trust you, don’t value you or your work – and that’s just from my family members. *rim shot*

Seriously… I have felt all of those. I’m 42 and just now realizing that it’s possible to have subtypes of ADD and not be defined or diagnosed based on the old stereotypical ADD traits everyone has come to watch out for. I’m not hyperactive (though my mother always wanted me to be an actor so I would finally have an outlet for all of my energy), and I’m not fidgeter (except when I have to pee and can’t leave to hit a bathroom, of course),

I haven’t been fired from more than 3 jobs in my life, but I have always felt passed over (not that I wanted to be a manager of a retail store at 20 – pfft!) and put down (by management and co-workers alike) for missing simple details (I hate details). I haven’t had it as bad at work as a lot of you, but there have been many jobs I have had where I found myself talking me out of projects, promotions and other perks because I somehow knew I wouldn’t be great at the details or little parts of it that were so very important. In a lot of ways, being a slacker has saved my psyche many times over. (Yay?)