Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Exercise and ADD: RUNNING FROM DISTRACTION

Exercise and ADD: RUNNING FROM DISTRACTION2010-02-27T21:45:48+00:00

The Forums Forums Tools, Techniques & Treatments Exercise and ADD: RUNNING FROM DISTRACTION

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi folks,

I would like to pass on some useful information I have learned over the last couple of months. I’m currently going through the ADD diagnosis process. I recently came to the realization that I have ADD after returning to University. I could not figure out why I did not succeed as I should; given the enormous amount of time I spend studying and trying every learning technique possible.

I am studying exercise and health physiology with interests in neuropsychology, neurology and how exercise affects the brain and cognition. I have no doubt that my previous marital arts experiences and the current mountain sports I participate in, such as rock climbing, backcountry skiing, white water paddling have greatly helped me through past years.

I highly recommend John J. Ratey’s book, Spark: The Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and The Brain. John Ratey has coauthored many other books including, Driven from Distraction: Making the Most of Attention Deficit Disorder. Everyone will benefit from reading Dr. Ratey’s book SPARK, not just those with ADD but also, anyone challenged by stress, anxiety, depression, addiction, hormonal changes, age related changes and society in general. Not surprisingly, Ratey states that some of the best sports for those with ADD are rock climbing, white water paddling and the martial arts. This is because high levels of focus are required in chaotic environments, other wise you risk falling of the rock, drowning or getting a karate chop to the head. Once I read this section of SPARK, everything started to make much more sense….